Inter-Dominican Football Tournament (2002-03)

Inter-Dominican Football

Dominican College Griffith Avenue won their first ever Inter-Dominican football title when they beat St.Dominic's, Ballyfermot 3 - 0. The tournament took place in St.Dominic's, Cabra on Saturday 31st of March 2003, part of the Inter-Dominican Sports Day. Five Dominican schools were respresented in the tournament:

Each team played four group matches with the top two teams playing in the final. Dominican College, Griffith Avenue topped the group with three wins ( 3 - 0 Vs Cabra, 5 - 0 Vs Muckross, 4 - 0 Vs Scoil Caitríona) and a 0 - 0 draw Vs Ballyfermot. Our opponents in the final were St.Dominic's, Ballyfermot who finished second. In an entertaining final, Griifith Avenue took an early lead and then proceeded to miss a number of good chances in the first-half. However two goals early in the second half put the game beyond Ballyfermot. The final whistle lead to joyous celebrations amongst the Griffith Avenue players as they collected their trophy and their winners' medals.

Dominican College Griffith Avenue Squad:
Jane Horgan Jones (C), Francina Murphy, Sorcha Turnbull, Caitríona Darling, Olga Tyrrell, Aisling Murray, Eva Power, Joanna O'Byrne, Donna Raynor, Sarah Stapleton, Lauren Phillips, Lauren Fagan, Jenny Smith and Katie Tuck